1858 Plat Map of Land on Elk Neck, Cecil County, Maryland, Surveyed by James McCauley.
Unique. Hand-colored manuscript plat map for a tract of land lying between the Elk River and “the head-line of St. John’s Manor” on the Elk Neck Peninsula in Cecil County, Maryland. The land’s metes and bounds were surveyed by James McCauley for William McNamee who acquired the land in 1844. McCauley’s survey divides the land into two parcels, 258 acres and 245½ acres.
An additional survey, written in the hand of McCauley, shows a parcel of 114 acres adjoining the 245½ parcel and extending northwest. This addendum is tipped onto the left edge of larger plat map, folding out from it. Other land owners identified on the map include George Hannon, Samuel Aldridge, John Aldridge, and the Heirs of Jesse Foster. Additional names listed in the survey data are John C. Groome, Charles McNamee, and Thomas Culbertson.
The Elk River is an important transportation route between Philadelphia and Baltimore, linking the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal to the Chesapeake Bay. Much of the land on the Elk Neck Peninsula is today conserved as state park and forest lands.
Description: 1858 Plat Map of Land on Elk Neck, Cecil County, Maryland, Surveyed by James McCauley.
[Elk Neck, Cecil County, Maryland, April 30, 1858]. 13½ x 17 inches with tipped on, fold-out addendum map, approx. 9 x 9 inches. Usual document folds; mild surface soil or light foxing; very good.